



## MEDIA RELEASE 1st December 2017

## Cyn's Magic Fastest Heat winner for the Brisbane Cup 2017

By Neil Brown GCA

Cyn's Magic is the fastest qualifier heading into next week's Group 1 Brisbane Cup (520m) after an impressive 29.82 victory at Albion Park on Thursday night.

Stepping from box one in the third heat of the night, the daughter of Magic Sprite and Tuscany Sally begun okay and settled back fourth around the first turn, railing up down the back she set out after early leader the talented Fast Times picking him up on the home turn and finished way the better in the run to the line.



Cyn's Magic comes into another group final after finishing second in the Ipswich Cup last Saturday night behind Outside Pass.

The victory was Cyn's Magic's 14th overall from 49 career starts, she has to overcome box four in the Group 1 feature, but you can rest assured she be rattling home at the end.

Alpha Aion (\$8.30) was another chaser to use the red box to full advantage beginning fast he led around the first turn but was quickly headed by Rather Dapper unfortunately for the "the Dapper" he went a miss with injury and left Alpha Aion back in the lead, from that point on he was

never headed in 29.86.

Snug chased hard for most of the journey and earnt his spot in the final. Race favourite and perhaps series favourite lpswich Cup winner Outside Pass missed the start badly and was never a chance.

Spring Time Girl (Pictured) made it seven wins at Albion Park on end with another dashing display giving Victorian visitor Aston Dinnigan a cold as she raced past him down the back straight to win with ease in 30.01.

The last heat was won by Slick when he ran down early leader Jury and held off the fast finishing Off And On to record a smart win in 29.91, the black chaser will jump from box one in the final, a draw that suits most greyhounds particularly at Group 1 level.

The final of the Group 1 Brisbane Cup will be run at Albion Park next Thursday night and is worth \$75,000 to the winner.

\*\*Continued Page 2...\*

2

## GROUP ONE – SKY RACING BRISBANE CUP \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and Ubet Fixed Price Market for the Sky Racing Brisbane Cup 520

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Sky Racing Brisbane Cup Final 520m								
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T				
1	Off And On	Tom Tzouvelis	\$8	29.91				
2	Snug	Darren Russell	\$6.50	29.90				
3	Spring Time Girl	Jean Hose	\$5.50	29.83				
4	Cyn's Magic	Bill Elson	<i>\$5</i>	29.82				
5	Alpha Aion	Selena Zammit	\$9	29.86				
6	Slick	John McCarthy	\$6.50	29.82				
7	Adhara Steel	Jeff Crawford	\$41	30.43				
8	Fast Times	Tony Brett	\$3.25	29.75				
(9)	Gelantipy Gold (RES)	Selena Zammit	\$8	29.94				
10	Jury (RES)	Tony Brett	\$3.50	29.75				

Local expert's selections for the final are as follows.

<u>Paul Dolan</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Spring Time Girl 2<sup>nd</sup> Slick 3<sup>rd</sup> Fast Times <u>John Brasch</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Fast Times 2<sup>nd</sup> Spring Time Girl 3<sup>rd</sup> Off And On

<u>Luke Gatehouse</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Cyn's Magic 2<sup>nd</sup> Fast Times 3<sup>rd</sup> Spring Time Girl



Last year's Brisbane Cup winner Thirty Talks

The Brisbane Cup has had a few name changes when it was first run in 1972 and won by Victorian Garron Court the race was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship. It remain that name until 1976. It was then called the Brisbane Cup from 1977 until 1981 changed in 1982 to be known as the Coca-Cola Cup until 1999 when it changed back to the Brisbane Cup. The race was conducted at the Gabba until the track closed in 1992 and since has been staged at Albion Park. Listed below is the Honour Roll containing some of the champion greyhounds among the past winners.

YEAR	WINNER	TIME	YEAR	WINNER	TIME	GROUP
1972	GARRON COURT (VIC)	33.67	1999	BOB'S ONE (NSW)	30.02	GROUP 1
1973	TOP SIMBI	32.85	2000	KANTARN BALE (VIC)	30.05	GROUP 1
1974	MISTER OOLLEE	32.90	2001	TRICKY CREEK	29.97	GROUP 1
1975	ALPHA BRAVA (NSW)	32.70	2002	TRICKY CREEK	30.15	GROUP 1
1976	CLOVER DUKE (NSW)	32.74	2003	BOGIE LEIGH	29.85	GROUP 1
1977	REBEL ATTACK	32.61	2004	MALFOY	30.16	GROUP 1
1978	YOUNG BREEZE (NSW)	33.31	2005	POROROCA	29.66	GROUP 1
1979	ACCLAIM STAR (NSW)	32.73	2006	PURE BURST	30.10	GROUP 1
1980	GENERAL JEFF (NSW)	32.72	2007	UNO JOEL	30.19	GROUP 1
1981	PICTURE THIS (VIC)	32.95	2008	EL GALO	29.84	GROUP 1
1982	PETER GLIDER (NSW)	32.89	2009	MR METZ	30.11	GROUP 1
1983	ACACIA PARK (NSW)	32.58	2010	HE KNOWS UNO (NSW)	30.00	GROUP 1
1984	NATIONAL LASS (NSW)	32.60	2011	GLEN GALLON	30.10	GROUP 1
1985	SUPER MAX (VIC)	32.74	2012	GOT A MOMENT	29.85	GROUP 1
1986	PRETTY FEARLESS	32.69	2013	KISS ME KUTUT (VIC)	29.82	GROUP 1
1987	WHIP TIP (NSW)	32.64	2014	KEYBOW (VIC)	29.98	GROUP 1
1988	DANCING GAMBLE	32.57	2015	DYNA DOUBLE ONE (VIC)	29.71	GROUP 1
1989	GOLDEN FOX (NSW)	32.63	2016	THIRTY TALKS	29.57	GROUP 1
1990	WHISKY BALE (NSW)	32.99				
1991	NO IT'S NOT (Gr 1)	32.32				
1992	WHITE COONOWRIN (Gr 1)	32.83				
1993	STAR TITLE (NSW) (Gr 1)	30.34				
1994	TOSS THE TEDDY (Gr 1)	30.50				
1995	FLYNG AMY (Gr 1)	29.89				
1996	SILVER PAGEANT (Gr 1)	30.46				
1997	BARRIO BABE (Gr 1)	30.24				
1998	QUESTIONS (NSW) (Gr 1)	30.21				

Race held at GABBA 558 metres 1972-1992. Held at Albion Park 1993 to Present 520 metres

\*\*\*\* Sponsored and Called Coca-Cola Cup 1982-1999 - Brisbane Cup 1977-1981 & 2000 to Present.

What's happening on race night?



For more information please contact:

Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 David Simonette
GCA Executive Officer
simonette7862@gmail.com